Losing My Religion?

 All of my religious experiences have seen me weaving in and out of faith.

But what about a religion that didn’t need faith? Is it still a religion, or just a way of life? What about a religion for atheists?

null

 I’ve built my own… well, no, what shall we call it? Dictionary.com describes religion as, among other things:

a set of beliefs concerning the cause, nature, and purpose of the universe, esp. when considered as the creation of a superhuman agency or agencies, usually involving devotional and ritual observances, and often containing a moral code governing the conduct of human affairs.

Mm, no. This doesn’t fit what I’m going for. Lifestyle?

the habits, attitudes, tastes, moral standards, economic level, etc., that together constitute the mode of living of an individual or group.

Yeah, that’ll do (EDIT: It has since occurred to me that ‘philosophy’ would have been a fine description… bah, you say po-tay-to, I say po-tah-to).

 

So, what are the main ideas of this new lifestyle I’m trying on?

  • respect: for yourself, for others, and for the natural world
  • nothing here requires any sort of leap of faith
  • the mind is a powerful thing
  • we can make positive changes in our own lives and the lives of others by changing the ways we think and act
  • helping those around you, making an impact, learning and teaching – they are some of the most important things a human being can do
  • educate yourself, whether it’s on religion or comic books. knowledge is a good thing, and you can never have too much of a good thing

 This post has perhaps been rambling: I apologise for that! I was basically trying to throw all my ideas about this out there, and hopefully when I try to describe putting that into practice, it will become clearer.

Mm…

~ by Vermin Love on September 10, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
